The Heart Break Chronicles- Secrets & Lies

Tasha:
Hey Baby 

Me:
Hey Babe. How you doing?

Tasha:
I’m awesome. Missing you. How’s you? 

Me:
I’m great. What you up to?

Tasha:
Well I’m home bored alone. What you up to?

Me:
Work. Was called in today.

Tasha:
Wow. On a Saturday. What’s happening?

Me:
Audit stuff. Be leaving soon though. Finally I can relax. Work has been hectic. What’s the plan for the evening?

Tasha:
Nothing ayi. See how boring I’ve become. What about you?

Me:
Could be meeting the guys for a bit. A drink or two. Or just head home. Boring simple night. 

Tasha:
Since when do you have boring and simple. You’re the fun go to man. I know you too well. 

Me:
Lol. It happens. I can’t be fun all the time. Sometimes I have to be serious.

Tasha:
That’s sad then.

Me:
Unless you have a better plan. Do you?

Tasha:
Maybe. Maybe not. Though my plan would involve a bed and music. I’ve missed you. Plus I haven’t seen you in a while. 

Me:
Work baby. Work. 

Tasha:
I work too. I got promoted and you’re yet to see me like you promised. Chuma you’ve been ignoring me.

Me:
Wow. I am so sorry. I’ve been a bad man.

Tasha:
You have to make it up to me.

Me:
I agree. I do have to make it up to you. So maybe you do have a plan after all. 

Tasha:
What does that mean?

Me:
Well I could pick you up and we can spend some time together. Me and you. Dinner? Drinks?

Tasha:
Awww Baby that would be soo nice. Let’s do both. 

Me:
Where can I find you?

Tasha:
Home wei. Where else can I be?

Me:
Uh…. I’m sorry you’re gonna have to give me directions. 

Tasha:
See it’s been that long. I swear you have to make it up to me hard this time. 

Me:
I promise. Getting my keys right now. Give me directions.

Tasha:
Villa Elizabetha. Along Washama Road. Plot 115a. You know where it is Ka. After the ka temba on the right.

Me:
Yea. I’ll be there soon. Look as beautiful as you always do. 

Tasha:
What should I wear?

Me:
Wear the last thing I got you. I know that will be something.

Tasha:
Okay that explains what I’ll wear underneath, what about the rest. Jeans? Sexy number? Tell me and I’ll do it.

Me:
Wear something black. Black lace something. You know lace drives me wild. And high heels. The heels on your whatsapp dp will do.

Tasha:
You know you got me these heels when you hot back from Dubai right. I like where your mind is going though.

Me:
I like where I’m going to to take you by the time I’m through with you baby. A night out on the town and then a special night at home.

Tasha:
I’m so excited. Ohh. I’ll bun my hair like you like it. Plus I’ll wear that perfume you got me. Special scent for a special occasion.

Me:
Luck by Avon?

Tasha:
Yea. I love that scent. My favourite. 

Me:
All these plans, now I can’t wait to see you.

Tasha:
I can’t wait to see you either. Where are you? I have to take a quick shower. How far away are you?

Me:
Met a colleague from the office in the car park. In my car now. On my way now. Will be there in fifteen.

Tasha:
Okay. See you soon. 

Me:
I love you.

Tasha:
Awww Baby. You haven’t said those words in a while. I love you too. I know I mess up and trip alot but always know you’re in my heart and soul.

Me:
I know Babe. 

Tasha:
Kisses. 

I put the phone on the passenger seat and take a deep breath. Gotta get this done today. Not tomorrow, not next week or next month making excuses everyday. Today. I’ve been stressed, actually over stressed with work and family messes that I’m starting to lose weight. Is it worth it? Is any of this worth it? I grip the steering wheel and see the gold band on my left hand. Is marriage worth it? When people play with your heart? Your own partner plays with your life as if you’re a cat with an unlimited number of lives to get through any disease or pain. Is any of it worth it? When did the essence of marriage change? When did people stop caring about their partners and have multiple partners instead. Pleasure before all else. Isn’t that what’s ruined my marriage? My partner started this mess now I’m on the same boat making sure it gets to land. I start the car and drive. I can’t live like this anymore. I’ve had it up to my neck. 

The car clock indicates the time is only eighteen twenty-three; I should be in Villa Elizabetha in approximately twenty minutes. Besides I’ll have to take my time, after all I want her to look perfectly beautiful and ready for me. I can’t wait to see her. She will be the best part of my day. I’ve been waiting for this for a long time what with everything else going on but, tonight it comes to pass. The effect of trying to juggle everything life throws at you plus being a parent to three children, having to deal with them demanding my time left, right and centre left me so frustrated that the only thing I could do was drink with my friends. And I hid this from my partner. I hide alot of things from my uncaring never notice a thing partner. Like how I know my partner gave me an STI months ago but I kept the truth to myself; my partner didn’t see it fit to tell me so I kept silent about it. Why? Shame. Shame that I left it go on without noticing the signs. Or maybe I chose to ignore the signs. But there is no ignoring them now. The emotions in me are rising up again, I wish I could slap somebody. It could have been HIV/AIDS but would my partner gave cared? No? I won’t play juggle a life this time. Tonight I will get this out of my system. This will be fun and at the end of the day I’ll go back home to my family like I always do but this time I’ll go to bed happier than ever before.

I hear my phone ringing but I do not reach out for it; not when I’m driving. Not now. I have things to do and I will get back with the world when I am done. Must be my amazing partner calling me probably to ask what time I’ll be home. Or maybe my partner wants to know if I’ll make it for the end of year party. No need to answer that question. I owe no one an explanation to my timings and whereabouts. This is what five years of marriage has made me. A bitter human being with no levels of respect for the institution of marriage. Where is the love? The passion? In the pictures we took on our wedding day that is. Now all that is left is ashes of thing called bliss.

As expected I get to Villa Elizabetha in twenty or so minutes – okay within twenty-five minutes. Along Washama Road I drive, knowing where I need to go. Thank God it’s evening, I know the neighbourhood so well because my sister lives in this area, just further down the road. What if she knows Tasha? Thank God I’m driving this car. She won’t know it’s me if she sees the car. She’s never seen me drive the Land Cruiser V8; she knows my hatred for big cars, either way this car has saved me. But with my sister, you knew know. So just in case. I’ve missed her though; I should find time to see her soon. Tomorrow will be okay I decide. A short drive down the road and I see Tasha’s house number on a wall beside a dark gate. I turn my car onto the gateway and I reach for the phone on the passenger’s seat.

Me:
I’m outside your gate.

Tasha:
Cool. Hoot. The guard will open the gate for you.

I honk the horn once. Twice. I think I hear the gate open. A man in a G4 security uniform comes in view, looks at the car and he opens the gate further. He must have been notified of my coming if he can open the gate so quickly, or maybe he knows the car, must have a pair of good eyes if recognises my car. I smile. Or maybe Tasha rarely has visitors. I drive through and see a pair semi detached flats within the big yard. Must be beautiful during the day I assume as I park my car next to a white Mercedes benz, an E350 that looks alot like the one at home. I smile to myself. This is it.

Maybe I shouldn’t be doing this. I should go back home, kiss my partner and deal with our marriage. Then watch my partner leave while claiming some office thingy. Nope. I’m doing this tonight. I open the door to the car and get the phone lying on the passenger seat. I reach out in the back seat, grab my grey handbag and my beige heels. I wear my heels and get out of the car. It’s cold tonight just like my mood I guess and I’m grateful I wore my coat. I lock the car and look at the flats in front of me. Quite the beautiful flats, the two dark pillars in front of each flat must make them look so modern. A design I’ve seen some where else but can’t place; home, yes I think that’s where I’ve seen the design. Similar I think. My are palms are sweaty and heart is racing. This is it. Her flat must the one the left, I’m assuming this because the Mercedes is parked right in front of it but if I’m wrong then there is only one other door to knock on. 

I walk to the dark door, take a deep breath and knock. Time stands still for me in this moment. The door opens and I see a woman in her twenties. Mid twenties to be exact. A quick description of her would be light skin – probably uses carolight; black Peruvian weave in a bun-bloody expensive; small face, big eyes, thick red lips-too much makeup; slim body in a black dress so tight it leaves nothing to the imagination and red heels- probably a hule with a job. It hits me then that we are so different. Opposites in fact. Typical of my husband to go for someone truly the opposite of me. After everything I have done for him he does this to me. I should beat her up. Grab her hair and pull it; or punch her in the face, a black eye for the troubles she’s caused me; or maybe rip the dress off her body and whip hee with my handbag. She deserves it. But no, she somehow does not deserve it. It’s not her fault she trusted the man. A married man. Did she know he was married? If she did, did she care he had children? She looks at me then looks behind me hoping to see someone else. Ahhh the sinner himself. 

“Who are you?” She asks.

Such a rude little thing. I would do well to slap her, she should learn some respect like I did before I got married. But wait my husband did this on purpose. To have the best of both worlds. While I was kind and loving he decided to try out rude and mean; I was the hardworking woman while all she had to do was pout and she would get what she wanted. I was the faithful one while she was the around-the-neighbourhood girl obviously. After all, if she didn’t give my husband the STI he gave me then who did?

This is actually funny. I want to laugh. He honestly thought I wouldn’t know about her. He actually thought I didn’t notice the changes in him – coming home late, getting cranky with me over anything, not eating at home, barely being around at home with me and the kids. The silly man changed right before my eyes. Men. In the beginning I thought it was a phase, just him venting out issues at work or family; but the phase turned into a habit and when he got me sick, I realised he was willing to gamble with my life and the life of our child. And he kept at it. Well he was going to learn. He was so foolish he fell right into the trap I set for him. Word of advice to men, never give your wife your phone if it has incriminating information on it. He thought I was the foolish stay at home wife but no. I’ll show him.

Now that I think about it, my loving husband did keep two things similar between his women: firstly our cars, Mercedes E350s -hers white and mine blue; and lastly, our perfumes, Luck by Avon so that when he came home from seeing her,after he hugged me in the morning he would have my scent on him. Her scent too. Idiot. Pathetic, if not embarrassing that he would want me, his wife to drive the same car as his mistress, but to smell like her too. What’s worse? That I have to deal with this in this manner like a desperate woman. Time to get this over and done with.

“Tasha?” I ask 

“Yes.” She responds. “Who are you? I’m quite busy. Plus I’m waiting for someone so hurry it up.”

“Hi. I am Alexis Nkhuwa.” I say, waiting to see if my name registers something to her. Nothing. “Chuma’s wife.” I add in slowly for effect.

I see her eyes grow wide. She looks behind me again and then looks at me. 

“Oh. That is his car. But he’s not coming.” I say 

I smile brighter exposing my even white teeth. She doesn’t say a word. All she does is stare at me. Enjoying the view I hope. Take it all in little girl. I know she’s looking at my smooth face, expensive coat and heels. I’m the real deal little girl. Our eyes meet and I cock my head to the side. Well let’s get this over and done with. I have other things to do. 

“Well. Hi. Tasha. Judging from the look on your face you obviously know Chuma. I need to talk to you about whatever it is you have been doing with my husband. Can I come in?” I ask calmly. 

Maybe I am a desperate woman. No I am a desperate woman.

Pinterest
29 Comments Add yours

  1. Kosta says:

    The twist really threw me off, I was like what kind of man knows the last perfume he bought for his woman and I kept wondering why partner was being used instead of another title…….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Hahahaha I hope you enjoyed it. I hope you read the other 3 parts after it

      Like

  2. joymanda says:

    The twist. On point

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you love 😊

      Like

  3. ferddhie says:

    Every time I tell myself not to be taken in by your stories; that you’re weaving a web to trap your reader. But no matter how many times I tell myself that, I invariable still get trapped. It seemed weird he didn’t know the address. It also seemed weird he knew female fashion oh so well. But i refused to follow the evidence and instead got lured into the kind of story I wanted it to be. Kudos again Vhuvu for once again showing what a master story teller you are. Next time though, I won’t be captured by your trap.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Hahahaha caught you again!!! And you know i put up hints for you to think. And you caught some of them. Hahaha. I will catch you again in Part 2. Posting it soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. verojanuary says:

    Awesome stuff! Thoroughly enjoyed reading this. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you… Thank you for reading. 😊

      Like

  5. The perfume technique tho…🙌..story well told…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Hahahaha cheaters are smart like that. Giving you similar stuff so that he never gets lost or caught

      Like

  6. kapa kaumba says:

    Nice story , at first i was confused why Chuma had a grey handbag and beige heels lol then it all made sense. I have a feeling she has already killed her husband and now wants to kill his mistress …. or is my imagination running to wild lol

    Liked by 3 people

    1. vhuvu says:

      Hmmmmm wild imagination. But expect craziness. It’s coming. I had to make it seem like it was her hubby chatting then switch it all up… Excitement

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great execution

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The Rackster says:

    I was lost for a minute then it hit me… hard… Maybe it was her handbag 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      I knew the heels and handbag would get you. Part two will be awesome

      Like

  9. Wow! Can we have part 2 already? The suspense is too much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Part two is coming this coming week. No worries. You will love it 😊

      Like

  10. Mwendi says:

    It can’t end there Vu! It just can’t!😭

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Part two is coming this coming week

      Like

  11. I’ll read this all over again for my consolation since it ended in suspect lol.
    I liked that mrs chuma’s character is revealed in the depth of the story ☺
    I love this and this happens to many wives. Marriage is a gamble. I can’t wait for part 2

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you so much for reading it… Mrs Chuma. Lol. Part two is crazy. Wives suffer seriously

      Liked by 1 person

  12. joseyphina says:

    Oh you had to end it there? Why? 😩

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Part two is coming soon.very soon

      Liked by 1 person

  13. That twist girl… You are getting even better with the twists!

    Sadly, this happens on a daily.
    It is just really sad!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Yes it does hey. Thank you for the twist compliment. Awesomeness. Yaaayyyy

      Like

Leave a Reply

