The Single Chronicles: The Catch – Mukandi

image

I am in love.

It is official I am in love with my boyfriend, Ntazana. Okay it’s been official for over a year but I am saying it again for not only my heart but all the other organs in my body to understand why my heart was racing. Two years of dating has come down to this.

I am so blessed to have him in my life. This is what love is. What we have is special. Ntazana was the one. The right one that God had made for me.

I look at my full glass of red wine and my thoughts go back to how I met him. I met him through my best friend over two years ago. My friend had thought we would be perfect for each other. She described him as intelligent, handsome and funny. Let’s be honest, who does not want a funny guy. So when I met him eventually at a friend’s birthday dinner, it came easy, talking to him after all I had heard so many nice things about him.

I realised we were similar in some aspects. Especially on the issue of family. We simply clicked. We met a couple of times and he got my number and he asked me out on a date. Ntazana the romantic is the nickname I gave him because he was a hopeless romantic, although people always said different. We did everything together so it seemed okay for us to date.

Open, honest, caring, loving, hardworking, smart, funny and a sweetheart all rolled up into a package that was all mine. Of course like any couple we had our issues although ours came in form of a baby mama. But we made it work. Why? Because I loved Ntazana.  He made my world light up in ways all the others had failed. We were what our friends envied. Our love story was beautiful. Our love story is beautiful. We fought for us and we made us work no matter what.

Although some months ago I thought we wouldn’t make it when he had to start traveling again because of work- the prospect of him being transferred to a different town. But you ever heard it’s the simple things that matter. Well it’s the simple things because even during his trips, he would make sure he called me every day. Men who make time are just attractive. I swear.

But when they had confirmed he would stay in Lusaka, the relief we felt was unmeasurable but he still traveled once in a while. And when he did travel two days ago, he made sure he wouldn’t miss our second anniversary. He came back from his trip earlier than expected.

That’s how caring he was. Is. I am blessed. I found what others fail to find in their life time. So of course I drove to his house to see him when he came back and I got the surprise of the night. Candle light dinner, just us two on our second year anniversary. No baby drama involved. Dinner and a whole more to happen. That was the plan right. Yes it was. But then things took a turn and somehow he was kneeling in front me, holding my hand and telling me he loved me.

He came back from his trip just for this. To make me happy. See what I keep saying about being blessed. Love lives here. Hash Tag. Definitely. I look at him kneeling at my feet. It can’t get any better than this. I want to scream but I hold it in. I feel tears but I will not cry. I have my make up on. Besides I don’t want to cry for no great reason. Great reason. Could it be? Maybe? No? Then again it was our anniversary but why was he kneeling? Is this the day? Oh my gosh. He smiles at me and I see his dimples; my heart is content in this moment. Nothing will ever stop me from loving him.

“Mukandi” He says. Did I tell you his voice is amazing. So I am biased, but it is beautiful. “Our two years have definitely been a dream. You make me a better man. Being with you is a blessing. I don’t know what I would have done without you. You came into my life when it was a mess. You changed me. You helped me raise my son. You showed me life can be beautiful. I can’t live without you. I love you! I’m in love with you. And I want to spend the rest of my life with you. Will you marry me?”

I see him pull out a little leather box from his pants pocket and he opens it. In it is a black titanium diamond ring. Oh my gosh he is proposing. Today is the day. I put my hand over my mouth to hold back my laughter. I am going to cry. I want to cry. I am so happy. I don’t care about my makeup anymore.

“Yes. Yes. Yes. I will marry you.” I say as he slowly puts the ring on my finger.

He stands up and drags me up into his arms. I laugh out loud as he kisses my neck. I am going to be his wife. What more do I want? A baby? Maybe. In due time. Two years has come to this. In your face haters who doubted he would ever propose. He puts me down and hands me my glass of wine and he gets his.

“Here is to us. Our future. Our life togther. I can’t wait to marry you. I love you future Mrs Sinkamba” He says.

Future Mrs Sinkamba. Mukandi Sinkamba. I love it. Nice ring to it. I can’t wait.

“To us.” I add. “To forever. To love so pure and true. To family. I love you too.”

I hear a knock on the door and he puts me his glass down. He gives me a quick kiss and he heads to answer the door. I sit down overwhelmed. I have to call my friends and tell them the good news. They will freak out. My mum will be so happy. I will soon be planning my own kitchen party and wedding. The details. Okay I am getting ahead of myself. I should enjoy tonight. It was not yet over. It was only the beginning.

I hear a loud female voice. I wonder who it is. Curiosity makes me stand up and head to the sound of the voice.

I find Ntazana looking at three women. I recognize one of the women. It’s his Baby Mama, Wezi and she looks angry. Drama lives here too I remind myself. I wonder why they are here. Who are the other two women? Her friends? Probably, as I look at their attires. Wezi is in a white t-shirt, light blue jeans and light blue heels with her signature red weave; One of the other women, black haired is in a white dress and black and gold heels and the last one is in a black hoodie, black skinnys and black ankle boots. They all look super angry.

What the hell is going on? Why are they here at this time of evening?

“Oh I see the other one is here too.” Wezi says with a smile. If smiles could kill we would be dead, except it was directed to Ntazana. She faces me and waves. “Hi Mukandi.”

I do not respond. Wezi has never liked me. Her hatred of me stems from the fact that Ntazana chose me, as if there was anything to decide and choose from because Ntazana was single when I met him over two years ago. So why was she being nice now?

“So Ntazana… Should we sit down? We talk. Let’s talk.” The lady in the white dress says. “Or should we stand here and talk. I do not really care.”

“Did you think you were smart Ntazana. You actually thought you were smart. Well here we are now. All of us. Your precious loves of your life. The ones you promised the world to. Are there any other promises you want to make?” She continued.

Precious loves of your life? Promised the world? I am lost. What do they want? Why is Ntazana silent. He’s not saying a thing. Shouldn’t he chase them so that we can get back to our dinner and engagement? I obviously have to do his job for him.

“Excuse me.. Wezi. What are you doing here?” I ask. “Ntazana what’s going on? Whats happening?”

“Mukandi. You obviously don’t know a thing do you?” Wezi answers.

Obviously I don’t. That’s why I asked isn’t it? I am getting irritated. They need to leave. If this is about child support, surely Wezi could leave and come tomorrow with her minions.

“Why don’t come back tomorrow and you can discuss whatever business you have with Ntazana the four of you instead of making so much noise.” I say.

“Should we tell her?” The lady in black asks slowly. She seems bored like she’s not interested in being here right now. “Ntazana. Should we tell her? Besides she’s here too so she has a right to know.”

Tell me what? I do not get it. How am I involved in their discussion when I don’t even know the other women. Beating around the bush.

“Ntazana. What’s going on?” I ask again.

“Ntazana the fool has been caught. He has been dating all of us. All of us.” The lady in the white dress answers as she points a finger at him.

Dating all of us. Three of them plus me? Four? Hmmm. But the ring? Didn’t I just change his life. Wasn’t I not the blessing? This should be a lie. Females always causing drama. Why is he silent?

“Ntazana are you gonna be silent the whole time? You won’t admit to getting caught. Boo. Am I not your blessing?” Wezi says “After all I carried your son. I’m the mother of your only child.”

“He said I was the one. That I changed him.” The lady in white answers.

“Excuse me. He said meeting me and being with me was a dream.” The lady i in black responds.

Huh? Wow. I need to sit down. Better yet I need to get my glass of wine. In fact the whole bottle will do. Were those not the same words he told me minutes ago? What the hell was happening? Ntazana, the love of my life? Who are the other two women? Is this a game? Some test to see if I believe these obviously crazy women?

“So Ntazana. Let’s talk. Now. We are not leaving till we do.” Wezi says. “Mukandi you need to sit down for this. It concerns you too. It concerns all of us in this room.”

Me? I just got engaged. I’m in shock. This is not how I thought this night would go. I look at the black ring on my finger.

I was right.

Drama does live here. Hash tag.

But then again so do lies and jokes.

image

To be continued…….

34 Comments Add yours

  1. Sibongile says:

    Super deep..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Awwww thank you.

      Like

  2. KayCee says:

    As usual happy reading 🙂
    And of course gathering ideas on how to write the story I had in mind but couldn’t figure out exactly how it would go.
    *I just might be a thief* lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Hahaha you are welcome

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Kav,u right beautifully my girl. But it’s expected . we read enough books in High School. I love love love. U got yourself a fan. Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I meant to write write

      Liked by 1 person

    2. vhuvu says:

      Thank you… humbled.🙈🙈🙈

      Like

  4. Lillian says:

    Simply amaizing. Kay!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      I’ll tell the writer you said so. 😊

      Like

  5. mr lee says:

    👏👏👏👏💪✍ I can only marvel & admire your skill,focus & attention to detail. Job well done so far

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thanks to you too. 😊😆

      Like

  6. I got so pissed off with Ntazana that I just snapped at my boss for disturbing me. Hehehe Jeez!! 4 women!! Wow!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Hahahaha. Calm down. Calm down. Lol. Yes 4 women

      Like

  7. Curtis says:

    Nice Piece there ….

    Liked by 1 person

  8. precious says:

    Wow! Can’t wait for the second part

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      It’s coming today

      Like

  9. sid says:

    Nice piece there…. so captivating…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you 😊

      Like

  10. Joel Jemba says:

    This better be a joke at the end otherwise Mukandi is gonna die and cry a river if not rivers, but anyway I am not the author of the story so I will just wait for the next issue. I love the twist, I wasn’t ready my friend, I wasn’t ready.

    The Beginning
    The Body
    And the Twist
    well done. ..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      I’m screaming. From the excitement. Omg. It gets better. No worries.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joel Jemba says:

        aaha aha no spoilers yet. . .

        Like

        1. vhuvu says:

          No spoilers but I hope you love the rest. Omg. I really hope you do. Tomorrow at 10hours part two

          Liked by 1 person

  11. Ntazana!!!!
    Ending as abrupt as usual, storyline as scandalous as expect it to be..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Lol. More to come tomorrow

      Like

  12. What! Its unfair, where is the rest?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      The rest is coming. Everyday at 10 hours

      Like

  13. lawleh says:

    Beautiful piece.nicely outlined..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you. Humbled you read this

      Like

  14. mulos says:

    Nothing could have prepared me for the plot twist.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      It will get better. Don’t worry

      Like

  15. KANDEYA. says:

    Popcorn; check
    Wine; check!!!

    Can’t wait to read the rest of the parts!! 👏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you. Thank you. They are coming. Soon

      Like

Leave a Reply

