The Single Chronicles: The Flirt 2

on
IMG_0330

Some men are giving me weird stink eyes. I hate being judged for doing something that others do everyday. What’s wrong with meeting a guy in a bar. Granted I picked him from the rest but hey if it turns out to a safe bet then why not. And if it goes past the bar and into real life then see how it goes before you kick him to the curb for his clingy nature. Why am I comforting myself? I notice Mark starring at me and I wave at him.

“Where are you? Is that music? What are you doing?”

Oh I forgot I was on the phone with my soon to be ex-husband. See what I said about clingy.

“I will be free this weekend.” I respond. “Is that good enough for you?”

“Where are you?” He asks

“I don’t owe you an answer. You called to confirm a meeting for our divorce now you are curious about where I am?”
“Why do you love avoiding the question?”
“Why do you love asking questions?”
“We are still married.”
“We have been on separation for months.”
“I still love you.”

Wow. Just wow. He lays it on me now. I cut the call and take a deep breath.

Rule 5: People say a lot of things out of jealousy, don’t believe them

I walk back to Mark who is talking to the bar man.
“I am so sorry Mark. Family issues that needed my attention.” I say happily
“It’s okay. Your drink.” He hands me a glass filled with an amber fluid. “Hope it’s sorted. Back to us. So what do you do?”

Why do I feel guilty about my decision?

****

Rule 6: If your mood is ruined (by someone else e.g husband) and If you are not going to take the leap into a bed with a total stranger then ensure you leave the bar early. Go home.

I swear Mark is an awesome buyer. Yes I said it. Buyer. 3 hours later, we are still at the bar talking about everything and nothing. My guilt is somewhere probably drunk. The bar is getting packed, the music is loud and the mood is just right – for those who have other plans of course; I am enjoying every moment of it. I look at my watch and notice the time- 11 pm. I have work tomorrow. I have to leave and head home if I want to get to work on time.

I reach out and touch Mark’s hand. “I have to get going. Work tomorrow and all.”

“Can I drop you off…. home? Is that okay?”
“I have a car.” I respond
“I can follow you home.”
“Or you can walk me to my car and call me tomorrow.”

He smiles. I lied. He’s hot when he smiles. Those teeth. Gosh. He stands, pays the bill to the bar man (including my crap amarula drink remember that one) and holds my hand leading the way out of the bar. I can’t help but smile. He is marking his territory.

He holds my hand till we get to my car. I unlock my car and I turn to look at him. My heart is a in mess of sorts. What if he requests to follow me home again. Then what? He’s hot and all but I have work tomorrow. I need me in my own bed tonight.

“So .Jackie. ” He starts. “It was a pleasure meeting you. Thank you for taking my mind off work.”
“Anytime.”
“You come to this bar often?”
I nod.
“How about another date.”

I laugh. Wow. That didn’t last long.

“Sure. That would be nice.” I answer
“Here is my card. Call me.” He says as he hands me his card.
I take it and put it in my clutch.
“Well this is goodbye.” I say. “I promise to call you.”
He walks up close to me, his hands on my cheeks and he kisses me.
Omg.


Should I have stayed? Or is it good I left? You know how it is when you get kissed by awesomeness right. The kiss that makes you want to stay and finish the deal but you can’t because you want to go home and sleep, but you know you won’t because your body is messed up and it needs that release. My mind is thinking gibberish. Or maybe it’s the alcohol. Sorry alcohol it’s not you. It’s me.

The kiss was great. That’s pretty obvious from my crazy thoughts. He deliberately kissed me so good so that he could rattle me up. Rattle me up he did. When he let go (The shame, I wanted to kiss him forever) and he said bye to me as he walked to his car, I wished I could ask him if I could follow him home but then I would look like an easy girl. Which I’m not.

Rule 7:  If you meet a great guy, don’t sleep with him unless your panties fall down or rip apart from the mind blowing kisses.

Rule 8: If great guy has your panties in a twist or torn, then find the next best thing

Which is why I am at his door (next best thing) waiting for him to open the door. I sent Mark a message telling him I was home and he responded with his “I am home” text. Then he added in he was bored and he missed me. That just fueled my need. I needed to be home right now but for now this would do.

He opens the door, next best thing is the epitome of sexy meets manliness in one body with his brown eyes, black hair and those lips to die for. Oh, he grew a beard I think to myself noticing he looks worried. He looks behind me as if expecting someone else to be there. Who can blame him? I am chaotic sometimes. Sometimes…

“Hey. What are you doing here?” He asks as he stands aside to let me in. He closes the door and looks at me. “Are you okay.”
“Don’t judge me but I am here for this…. ” I whisper as I kiss him.

I guess he gets the hint because he responds to my kiss. Thank you my heart whispers.

****

I open my eyes and see him. Asleep. He’s a sight.

Rule 9: Leave while he’s still asleep

I turn away and sit up. My body’s sore. In the right places. I stretch and get up. Where are my clothes? I need to leave and get home then work. I know I’ll be late. I pick up his t-shirt off the floor and wear it. Better than walking around naked.

“Good Morning.”

I turn around.

“Morning.” I answer.

“You are up early. You okay?”

I shrug. This is going to be awkward. Gosh. Why are morning afters so awkward. Kill me now.

“Well that didn’t last long.” He says

“What do you mean?” I ask.

He stands up and I turn around. I hear him shuffle somethings, whatever that is.

“You do know you came to me right. Last night.” He says

See what I meant about awkward moments. Having to explain simple things like booty call. I turn around grateful that he’s worn his shorts.

“I was drunk.” I say

“Oh c’mon. I know when you are drunk.”

“I should leave.  I have work. I have to go home.”

“So who got to you this time.” He asked

“Huh?”

“You do know whenever you go out, you somehow end up here. Not high. But ready enough to open your legs.”

We are past awkward and into twilight zone.

“Look we can talk about this later. I have to go.” I respond

“Sure. Who am I to stop you.” He says as he walks up to me. “You do as you please. I’m just the victim of the night.”

“Please don’t pretend. You enjoyed it as much as I did. I didn’t see you stopping me from kissing you. Undressing you. Or giving you the pleasure of your life.”

“Are you saying you did me a favour?”

“No. I’m not. I’m just saying why should I go around sleeping with every Jim and Jack when I have an Isaac out there.”

“Are you kidding me? So you used me?”

Control the situation.

“No. To be honest. I missed a part of what we had.” I should take a job as the perfect liar.

That silences him up. I should never have come here. Look at the drama. See what I said about fragile creatures. Now I have to comfort him. Unnecessary. A gold light hits my eyes as he walks to me. I see the ring on his left hand. So he still wears his wedding ring. Fascinating.

“I love you.” He says

Rule 10: stand your ground in every situation.

“I love you too. This was a mistake like the other times. I still want a divorce.” I tell my husband.

24 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m not sure if it was deliberate or not but I like the fact that MARK was MARKing his territory. That’s enough pun to sell a rap album 🙂 Good. It should read “My heart is in a mess of sorts.” I think the article “a” is misplaced somewhere there..

    Like

  2. ferddhie says:

    Lol now you’re messing with my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Hahahaha. Don’t get confused.

      Like

  3. Confused.com!! No really…..but was Mark her husband? OOOOOOOOH MY GAHD, so who the hell phoned her whilst still at the bar? The twists! Ah! My heart!!!! Please make this a continuing piece. I’m begging!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Mark is someone else. That I can tell you. But great way of thinking. I confused everyone lol. Part 3 is coming

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m reading again……cause now that I think of it, when she was at “his” door, she wasn’t actually at Mark’s door…..we just assumed she was cause there was talk of the kiss…..but I actually think she went to her husband’s home (provided they lived apart), thus the ending.

        I don’t know, am I right? Can’t wait for part 3!!!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. vhuvu says:

          Lol… part 3 will be too juicy for words I tell you. I’m scared

          Like

  4. LIllian says:

    Beautifull piece of work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you Lillian. Truly humbled

      Like

  5. Joel Jemba says:

    I didn’t see the twist coming, well crafted all the pieces fall in place at the last paragraph! This is good really good!
    I appreciate your work and craft.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you.. I glad you like it. I hear part 3 is coming soon. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joel Jemba says:

        Bring on it on! The eaglets are ready to receive it!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. vhuvu says:

          Hahaha. Soon.. Look out for my next piece today though. Something different and touching.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Joel Jemba says:

            Spoiler alerts.. but oh well!

            Liked by 1 person

  6. Bana Milo says:

    Oh my gosh Vhu!! This is sooo good. I feel like a crack addict. I just want more!! That twist at the end,so dope

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Lol… ahhhh… I don’t even know what I’m supposed to do ayi. Hahaha. Thank you though. I still have more single chronicles away from the flirt. The drama. Omg. You will die laughter or anger. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. joymanda says:

    Interesting

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sandraboggie says:

    I swear this is the best piece. Just leaves one wanting more. Plus oh the twist!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Awwwww. Thank you Sandra. I’m humbled. I’m glad you said that. Motivated.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Mr Mayor says:

    Dr Love
    I surrender

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      You can’t. I will not allow that white flag. ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

