Wrists And All That

wrists
Google

I wrote this when I felt I had no way out but suicide. Most times we feel as if our lives are heading nowhere. No good in sight. Just pain. I forgot what made life beautiful. It’s the simple things. It’s always the simple things.

Sometimes my wrists look pretty enough to slash,
When the world hits me down,
Bruising me,
Breaking my bones,
As I get up,
My wrists are the first thing I see,
Noticing the green lines underneath my skin,
Transporting my life source,
I imagine,
Picking up a razor and cutting out my freedom.

Sometimes my wrists look pretty enough to slash,
When words hurt,
Breaking my tiny world into smithereens,
Without a care for consequences,
I suffer alone,
Forgiveness a hard trait to own,
As I try to let go of the pain,
My wrists are the first thing I see,
So light,
So frail,
I imagine,
Picking up a knife and cutting out the heartache.

Sometimes my wrists look pretty enough to slash,
When the façade is gone,
Replaced by my true weak nature,
The world ignores me,
Time fast forwards itself,
Never pausing long enough to enjoy one single moment,
But always slow dancing,
To every painful occurrence,
When I wrap my arms around me,
My wrists are the first thing I see,
I imagine,
Picking up anything sharp and watching my life ooze out.

Sometimes my wrists look pretty enough to cut,
The pain I feel will go,
The loneliness will not last,
Sometimes my wrists look pretty enough to slash,
Then again,
Sometimes my wrists look pretty with bracelets.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Bless Afrifa says:

    I tried that and finally convinced myself I would never do it again. Your wrists are truly beautiful with those bracelets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you 😊😊

      Like

  2. This is a lovely poem with enough imagery to make a huge impact. I praise God that wrists are no longer an object for destruction but beauty! God bless

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you. I see my wrists as beautiful now

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I liked this after reading just the first stanza ❤

    But you are okay now right???

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you. 😊😊😊
      I’m better. Much better. I’m a happy me now.
      I hope others can read it and see they are not alone and that there is always help if they need it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ❤ happy to hear that sweety ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

