The Masquerade Mistress

So I saw this picture and I thought I had to write a story about it.
masquerade
It’s 1979
I remember the year but not the month or day

I think someone is following me

Maybe I’m paranoid
Years of loneliness have made me paranoid

The music is too loud

I can’t stand the noise
People are dancing
Strangers with strangers
I wish I could take off my mask
I hate it
But it protects me from them
If they knew who I was they would ask for my head
I wish I hadn’t come
But I’m here now
I might as well enjoy the moment
After all I’m here to find a heart
Brushing hands with people I’ll never see
Like making careless promises we can never keep
Cold hands try to hold onto my hand
But I am just passing through
No need for an introduction
I’m sure someone is following me
Then I see him
Standing in the corner of the room
Half his face in a white mask
The other half hidden in the shadows
But his green eyes stand out
Aged with time but still alive
I can tell he’s looking at me
Or is he looking at the lady next to me
He looks away
Another woman got his attention
I shouldn’t stare
I keep on walking
I’m envious of the couples dancing
I miss the feeling of a man’s hands on me
Just this once give into my sin
I close my eyes and let the sound of music guide me
I do not care who sees me
I simply let loose
A voice whispers near my ear
I know the words
I say them with him as I feel his hands caress my back
“We are one
Forever
Your pain
My end
Your love
My beginning”
And we dance
Oblivious to the world around us
The music guides us
I know his every move
He knows mine
Music slows down
His hands still on me
I open my eyes
Green eyes looking into mine
He’s the one I’ve been waiting for
The heart of the masquerade
“Hello Mistress.” He says
I smile
I just found my ticket to a new life
21 Comments Add yours

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you. 🙂

      Like

  1. ferddhie says:

    I don’t know how to explain this but I like the confusion in this. Almost like you’re writing out her/your thoughts just as they pop up. Nice read.

    Like

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you hey. I have this thing of where I don’t think of what I wanna write I just let the words flow.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ferddhie says:

        I know!! I think that’s the best. Sometimes I wish I could replicate the randomness of my thoughts on paper……

        Liked by 1 person

        1. vhuvu says:

          Ever had a moment where you write 5 lines that don’t make sense together but then become 5 different pieces of something.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. ferddhie says:

            Haha, you suddenly find that you can actually create different things from each…. Do you put them all down and develop them or focus on just one?

            Like

            1. vhuvu says:

              My inspiration strikes at awkward moments so I use Evernote as my scrapbook for random sentences or ideas. Then the thought disappears. Once I read the ideas on a different day I get inspired to write something else. Hahaha

              Liked by 1 person

              1. ferddhie says:

                Oh OK. Same here. But I’m probably the laziest person alive. The desire to pen something down has to be really strong for me to pen something down. Even then, I’m probably my biggest critic so nothing makes it onto the blog until I’m comfortable with it.

                Like

                1. vhuvu says:

                  Look at me. Deleting drafts every time I start something new.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. ferddhie says:

                    Lol one good thing tho is that I actually write them down in a journal. That way, even if I don’t post them immediately, I can still go over them later.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. vhuvu says:

                      But you are much better than me. I write then stop and forget then start and stop. I’m a mess of things

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. ferddhie says:

                      Lol don’t be too certain. Have I mentioned how lazy I am? Anyway, I’m trying to take my writing more seriously. Be more consistent. What about you?

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. vhuvu says:

                      I’m tryna be more consistent too. You know life takes over. Literally. One minute you blogging next minute you have a baby, a wedding to help plan, a trip, a funeral, work, and blogging disappears from your life for 2 months and you wonder where you gonna start from again. I deleted 4 different blogs last year alone.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. ferddhie says:

                      4???!!!!! Wow!!! I hope you’re planning to keep this up tho. Defo like what I’ve read so far. You have a baby? That’s cool. What’s his/her name

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. vhuvu says:

                      Oh no. I have no child. But that’s how life is. But I live with my 3 year old nephew. Smart kid who keeps me occupied 24/7 with reports. Lol

                      I deleted four blogs. Three on tumblr. One other on wordpress. I have two more that I don’t use on eblogger (they call it that right)

                      I will keep this blog. I promise.

                      Like

                    6. ferddhie says:

                      Lol OK. Kids are great. Wish I could have one of my own. I keep telling my friends they should link me up with any baby mama they know lol.

                      Will hold you to that promise of keeping this this blog.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    7. vhuvu says:

                      Baby mama? Gotta be careful ka. Some baby mamas are crazy. Lol. I’ve seen a few crazy ones in my life.

                      Find the right woman if you don’t already have her and have babies.

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beaton says:

    The masquerade story ^_^ its enchanting, a lil intrigue, mystery and dance….
    reads like as story….love it
    ~B

    Ps “Its all a masquerade ball and everyone is wearing a mask, life”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vhuvu says:

      Thank you.

      And you are right. We all wear masks sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Beaton says:

        …..it was a delight really ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

